The Murder of Tobe Irvine and the Subsequent Trial and Sentencing of John Mayfield and Alex Jones and Mayfield's Execution by Hanging

Subject

The Law, Crime and Punishment

Source

1-3. Florence Gazette
4. Lauderdale County Circuit Court Minute Docket Aug., 1875-Dec., 1878, p. 441.
5-10. Florence Gazette.
11. Tuscumbia, AL North Alabamian
12-13. Florence Gazette.
14. Moulton (AL) Advertiser
15-16.. Florence Gazette
17. Tuscumbia, AL North Alabamian
18. Moulton (AL) Advertiser
19. Florence Gazette

Publisher

Newspapers.com

Contributor

Lee Freeman

Rights

Images are available for educational and research purposes. This image may not be reproduced for commercial purposes without the express written consent of the copyright holder. It is the responsibility of the interested party to identify the copyright holder and receive permission.

Format

Jpeg

Language

English

Type

Still Images

Files

Cutting FG Wed Nov 13 1878 P 3.jpg
Tobe Irvine Dead FG Wed Nov 20 1878 p 3.jpg
Jones Arrested FG Wed Nov 27 1878 p 3.jpg
John Mayfield Bill of Indictment.jpg
Mayfield Trial Today FG Wed Mar 12 1879 p 3.jpg
Jail Escape Mon Night I FG Wed May 28 1879 p 3.jpg
Jail Escape Mon Night II FG Wed May 28 1879 p 3.jpg
Three of the Jail Birds Captured FG Wed Jun 4 1879 p. 3..jpg
Criminal WK Circuit Court I FG Wed Sep 17 1879 p 3.jpg
Criminal WK Circuit Court II FG Wed Sep 17 1879 p 3.jpg
Local News John Mayfield and Alex Jones Sentenced Tusc NA Fri Sept 19 1879 p 3.jpg
John Mayfield to be Hung FG Wed Oct 22 1879 p 3.jpg
Interview with John Mayfield FG Wed Oct 29 1879 p 3.jpg
John Mayfield to Be Hung MA Thu Nov 6 1879 p 3.jpg
John Mayfield Not Hung FG Wed Nov 12 1879 p 3.jpg
John Mayfield Receives Another Respite FG Sat Jan 10 1880 p 3.jpg
Local News John Mayfield Respited Tusc NA Fri Mar 5 1880 p 3.jpg
John Mayfield to be Hung MA Thu Mar 11 1880 p 3.jpg
From the Gallows Into Eternity FG Sat Mar 13 1880 p 3.jpg

Citation

“The Murder of Tobe Irvine and the Subsequent Trial and Sentencing of John Mayfield and Alex Jones and Mayfield's Execution by Hanging,” Shoals Black History, accessed February 5, 2023, https://shoalsblackhistory.omeka.net/items/show/1074.